Overview
We're excited to announce a significant enhancement to ClickBank Analytics! As of May 16, 2024, the ClickBank Reporting Suite now contains unique event counts, like Unique Hops and Impressions, in addition to raw event counts. This enhancement also includes several other improvements to ClickBank Analytics, including several new metrics and updated conversion rate metrics!
This article contains the following sections:
- Unique Event Count Update
- Conversion Rates & Unique Events
- Benefits of Unique Hops & Unique Order Form Impressions
- New Metrics Now Available
- Improvements to Existing Metrics
- Additional Updates Included in Release
- Important Notes: Viewing and Grouping Unique Events
- Unique Events FAQ
- Additional Resources & Related Articles
Unique Event Count Update
Now, in addition to the raw event count, the ClickBank Reporting Suite includes Unique Order Form Impressions and Unique Hop Count.
Previously, all conversion rates in the ClickBank Reporting Suite were calculated based on raw event counts. This means that every time a click or impression occurred, even if that click or impression was created by the same person, it was counted in the reporting, thus creating one of the familiar nuances with raw reporting: an inflated denominator when it comes to calculating actual conversions, which can result in a lower conversion rate.
With this update, users can expect to see a slight bump in their conversion rates since CR is now calculated with unique event data.
Related: Order Form Conversion Reporting on ClickBank
Conversion Rates & Unique Events
Unique Hop Count and Unique Order Form Impressions give ClickBank Users a better understanding of conversion performance based on true reach.
Example of Raw Event vs. Unique Event Conversion Rates
Sally logs into ClickBank reporting to view her conversion rates for last week, the report shows: 110 order form impressions, and 80 unique order form impressions and 10 sales for the given time period selected. Review the conversion rates calculated based on raw event counts vs unique user event counts to compare
Conversion rate based on raw counts: (10/110) * 100 = 9.091%
Conversion rate based on unique counts: (10/80) * 100 = 12.5%
Benefits of Unique Hops and Unique Order Form Impressions
Accurate Measurement: Unique user event counts provide more precise measurement of the individuals (rather than clicks alone) who are interacting with your content, promotion, and/or offer. These metrics allow users a more insightful indicator of how effective their promotion or content is for the given audience.
Better Optimization: More accurate data and conversion rates make for more informed decisions when ClickBank Users are optimizing their offers and campaigns. Unique Hop Counts and Unique Order Form counts empower ClickBank Users to understand the true reach of their promotions and identify areas for improvement more efficiently with less guesswork.
Comparative Analysis: With Unique Events, ClickBank Users can now make fair and accurate comparative analytics across platforms and competitor sites. This ensures that ClickBank Users can evaluate their performance accurately, relative to other non-ClickBank metrics.
New Metrics Available Now
Along with Unique Hops and Unique Order Form Impressions, we've added the following metrics to ClickBank Analytics:
- Combined refund and chargeback stats in return fields
- Gross Sale Amount (Seller Only)
- AOV (Seller Only)
- EPO
- EPO With Rebills
Improvements to Existing Metics
In addition to adding metrics to ClickBank Analytics, we've also made the following improvements to existing metrics:
- For sellers viewing fields related to affiliate earnings, the affiliate commission amount now includes JV affiliate earnings, if applicable.
- Affiliates are now always viewing their data by the initial seller they promoted. Upsells from JV Upsell contracts will be reported under the initial seller promoted.
- Refund and chargeback sales counts are from realtime and historic data to reflect the count based on the receipt, not the line item.
Additional Updates Included in Release
This release also included the following additional updates:
"Group By" and Data Export Improvements
ClickBank Users can now export data from ClickBank Analytics with both "Group By" dimensions configured in the view.
Filter Enhancements
New filters have been added to help users refine their data analysis.
Faster Data Load Times
Backend enhancements have been made to deliver data faster.
Important Notes: Viewing and Grouping Unique Events
Unique Counts Supported Only for Select Dimensions
Not all group by scenarios are supported with unique event metrics. This may be due to incompatibility for the selected dimensions in the report view.
For example, unique user counts are not available when viewing your data grouped by hour given conflict with the measure of uniqueness calculated per day. In cases where the report view configured does not support unique event metrics, the unsupported metric columns will not contain data and a warning indicator will appear on the field header.
Unique event counts may vary based on the dimensions selected within your view.
For example, as a seller viewing data grouped by Date, the unique order form impression count may vary from data grouped by affiliate for the same selected date range. In this scenario, you may find that, when grouping by affiliate, unique order form impressions counts are greater than when you are viewing the data by date. This would indicate that a unique user was driven to the order form by multiple affiliates within the same day.
Unique Counts for today’s data are estimated and subject to change based on a nightly reconciliation process, but variance should be minimal.
Unique Events FAQ
Q: What is the difference between raw event count and unique events count?
A: Raw event counts represent the number of clicks to an order form or HopLink. This count does not take into account if these clicks all came from the same person–they are all counted as individual clicks or views.
For example, if you sent an email with a HopLink to 10 people, and each of them clicked the HopLink 2 times, then the Hops would equal 20.
Now, with unique event counts (provided as Unique Hops and Unique Order Form Impressions), the data represents how many individual users (as identified with device browsers) clicked or visited the order form in a given day.
To use the same analogy, if you sent your email to 10 people, and each of them clicked the HopLink times, the unique clicks would equal 10. When a user clicks on the same hopLink more than once, the Unique Click is counted on the first click and not any future clicks on the same day.
Q: Why will this change conversion rate?
A: Calculating conversion rate with a unique event will change the conversion rate because the calculation for conversion rate is:
Conversion count (x) / event count (y)
If x=10 and y=100, then the conversion rate is .10%.
Let's say the event count is smaller because instead of counting every click, you count every individual. Now, the denominator has changed.
If x=10, and y=90, the conversion rate is now .11%.
Q: How do unique events work?
A: Unique event counts represent individuals, rather than clicks. This means that our technology relies on a combination of device GUID (globally unique identifier) and IP address to determine the amount of individuals in a 24-hour span who trigger an event. In this case, that event is clicking a Hop or viewing an order form.
This is different from raw count data, which counts every click and every order form impression, regardless if the same person is clicking or viewing.
Q: Are unique events measured the same way on each platform?
A: Yes and no. They way each platform measures unique events is similar in that they are all aiming to measure activity from the individual rather than at the click-level. However, how that individual is determined differs from platform to platform. This means that users may notice some discrepancies if they are using a third party for analytics, even though both are measuring unique events.
Q: How does ClickBank determine a unique event?
A:Unique users are identified by using ClickBank’s 1st party cookie placed on the user’s device browser. An event is considered unique if we do not have an existing event for the device within the same day, with the same characteristics. The period evaluated for uniqueness is 24 hours, or a single day, based on PST timezone.
Q: What are the common reasons a unique event on ClickBank might not match a unique event on another platform?
A: Different platforms define and measure unique events through different criteria. While all share the same definition, precise measurement may vary from platform to platform. With this enhancement, the comparison between ClickBank and competing platforms or third party analytics tools is much more accurate than before.
Q: What happened to the timezone setting?
A: ClickBank Analytics no longer includes the time zone setting in order to accommodate for the inclusion of unique event data. This is because unique events are measured in a 24-hour window in order to provide individual-level, rather than click-level, data. Data by timezone and data by unique event are not compatible within the same analytics platform.
Additional Resources & Related Articles
- KNOWLEDGE BASE: Using Sales Analytics
- KNOWLEDGE BASE: ClickBank Reporting Suite: Report Glossary
- KNOWLEDGE BASE: Sales Analytics FAQ